Skip to main content

UF/IFAS Office of the Dean for Research

UF/IFAS Office of the Dean for Research

This call is for: Unit Leaders

Submission deadline: August 29, 2019

Click here for the most recent awardees.


We received the call for the 2020-2021UF Foundation Term Professorships Program in support of the university’s preeminence goals and to support faculty research efforts. The Foundation plans to award two Term Professorships in 2020-2021 (see the attached announcement from the Provost).

UF/IFAS may nominate one faculty member and this nomination is due to the Provost’s office by August 13, 2021. For the UF/IFAS selection, Department Chairs and Center Directors may each submit one nomination to the UF/IFAS Dean for Research Office by Monday, August 2, 2021.


The eligible pool includes untenured, tenured, or non-tenure-track faculty who have a substantial research assignment and an outstanding record of research accomplishments. Past winners include: Peter Hansen (ANS) – 2018, Nan-Yao Su (FLREC) – 2017, and Julie Maupin-Furlow (MCS) – 2015.

Submission Process

Each submission requires:

  1. Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae (Note: this should be an abbreviated, 1-page current CV)
  2. A description from the Unit Leader documenting the reasons that this faculty member should be nominated, focusing on their research accomplishments (this will be used to compose the dean’s final nomination letter if this nominee is selected).
  3. Confirmation (within the submission system) that nominee can attend the recognition ceremony that will be held during the Foundation Board meeting on Saturday, September 18th.

All application materials must be submitted electronically at  by Monday, August 2, 2021.

For More Information

With questions, contact John Davis (Associate Dean for Research, or Cassie Sexson (Executive Assistant,