Skip to main content

UF/IFAS Office of the Dean for Research

UF/IFAS Office of the Dean for Research

This Call is For: Unit Leaders

Submission Deadline: Monday, March 1, 2021

Click here for the most recent awardees.


Please see the Provost’s announcement below calling for nominations for Excellence Awards for Assistant Professors. The awards recognize “excellence in research” for junior faculty.  Recent recipients include: John Bromfield and Brett Scheffers (2020), Francisco Peñagaricano and Yu Wang (2019), Erica Goss and Todd Osborne (2018), Samantha Brooks and Daniel Carrillo (2017), Jiri Hulcr and Patricio Munoz (2016), Damian Adams and Matthew Smith (2015), and Christine Miller and Luke Flory (2014).


UF/IFAS/CALS is allowed to forward two (2) nominations for the competition. (Note that those assistant professors who currently have packets submitted for tenure and promotion are NOT eligible to apply for this award.)

Submission Process

We are requesting that each unit submit one nomination to the UF/IFAS Dean for Research Office by Monday, March 1, 2021. A selection committee will assist the deans in identifying candidates forwarded to the Provost.

For your nomination, please submit a two page abbreviated CV and a two page research summary of current projects for your nominee (see below). Please also provide a draft nomination letter, as this will accelerate finalizing the package to submit to the Provost.

Please submit your nomination to this site: by Monday, March 1, 2021.

For More Information

Contact John Davis (Associate Dean for Research, or Cassie Sexson (Executive Assistant,