UF | IFAS Research

Culture of Nomination

"Nominagraph" of 40 Current UF/IFAS AAAS Honorary Fellows:

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Honorary Fellows Program is a fantastic example of how a Culture of Nomination continues to grow at the University of Florida. The UF/IFAS Research Dean's Office ensures that top faculty are eligible for nomination and encourages current AAAS Fellows to nominate their colleagues who are making outstanding contributions to interdisciplinary science. The increase in AAAS Fellows year-over-year shows the benefits of this coordinated effort and the high stature of our faculty in UF/IFAS core disciplines.



New AAAS Fellows By Year:



Thanks to a strong culture of nomination, UF leads the nation with 19 faculty elected as AAAS Fellows in 2022.

Faculty Name	Unit	Tenure Home	Citations	NAS Member	AAAS Fellow
James Jones Bin Gao	ABE	ABE			
Ramesh Reddy	SWS	SWS			
Harry Klee Gerrit Hoogenboom	ABE	ABE			
Robert Cousins Peter Hansen	ANS	ANS			
Andrew Hanson Jeffrey Jones Arie Havelaar	HOS PLP ANS	HOS PLP ANS			
Zhenli He	IRREC	SWS			
Linda Bartoshuk Jose Eduardo Santos	FSHN ANS SWS	FSHN ANS SWS			
Pedro Sanchez Matthew Thomas	ENY	ENY			
Eric Triplett Frank Asche	MCS FFGS	MCS FFGS			
Cheryl Palm Ilaria Capua	ABE	ABE			
Rob Ferl Frank White	HOS PLP	HOS PLP			
Yuncong Li Tony Romeo	TREC MCS	SWS MCS			
Valerie deCrecy-Lagard Scott Angle	MCS SWS	MCS SWS			
Nan-Yao Su Wayne Nicholson	FLREC MCS	ENY MCS			
Donald McCarty Lukasz Stelinski	HOS CREC	HOS ENY			
Geoffrey Dahl Jeffrey Brecht	ANS HOS	ANS HOS			
Matt Whiles Michael Scharf	SWS ENY	SWS ENY			
Bala Rathinasabapathi Adegbola Adesogan	HOS ANS	HOS ANS			
Sabine Grunwald Nian Wang	SWS CREC	SWS MCS			
Kai Lorenzen Liwei Gu	FFGS FSHN	FFGS FSHN			
Bette Loiselle Rudolf Scheffrahn	WEC FLREC	WEC ENY			
Rafael Munoz-Carpena Madan Oli	ABE WEC	ABE WEC			
Fred Gmitter Kevin Folta	CREC	HOS			
Wes Wood	WFREC	SWS			
Karen Garrett Karen Koch	PLP HOS	PLP HOS			
Denise Tieman Rosemary Loria	HOS PLP	HOS PLP			
Lynn Sollenberger	AGR	AGR			
Bryony Bonning Won Suk (Daniel) Lee	ENY ABE	ENY ABE			
Nemat Keyhani Wilfred Vermerris	MCS MCS	MCS MCS			
Eric Hellgren Matias Kirst	WEC FFGS	WEC FFGS			
Jeffrey Bloomquist	ENY	ENY			
Michael Dukes Dean Gabriel	ABE PLP	ABE PLP			
Mitchell Knutson Robert Fletcher	FSHN WEC	FSHN WEC			
Jiri Hulcr	FFGS	FFGS			
Andrew Schmitz Susan Percival	FRE FSHN	FRE FSHN			
Vimala Nair John Arthington	SWS	SWS			
Jianjun Chen	MREC	ENH			
Matthew Smith Bruce Schaffer	PLP TREC	PLP HOS			
Ethan White Charles Sims	WEC FSHN	WEC FSHN			
Micheal Allen	NCBS	FFGS			
Carlos (Charlie) Messina John Davis	HOS FFGS	HOS FFGS			
Tim Martin Gopal Kakani	FFGS AGR	FFGS AGR			
Martha Monroe	FFGS	FFGS			
James Ellis Gary Peter	ENY FFGS	ENY FFGS			
Emilio Bruna Wendell Cropper	WEC FFGS	WEC FFGS			
Morgan Ernest	WEC	WEC			
Dean Kopsell Kathryn Sieving	ENH WEC	ENH WEC			
Steven Sargent Ann Wilkie	HOS SWS	HOS SWS			
James Anderson	FRE	FRE			
Michelle Danyluk David Clark	CREC ENH	FSHN ENH			
Gary Vallad Anna-Lisa Paul	GCREC HOS	PLP HOS			
James Collins Fredy Altpeter	FSHN AGR	FSHN AGR			
Liliana Cano Mariola Edelmann	IRREC MCS	PLP MCS			
Jianping Wang Zhiyong Cheng	AGR FSHN	AGR FSHN			
Luke Flory Tracy Irani	AGR FYCS	AGR FYCS AGR			
Jose Dubeux Zhonglin Mou	MFREC MCS	MCS			
Pratap Pullammanappallil Grady Roberts	ABE AEC RCREC	ABE AEC			
Joao Vendramini Glenn Israel Robert Gilbert	AEC AGR	AGR AEC AGR			
Robert Gilbert Brian Myers Eben Broadbent	AGR AEC FFGS	AGR AEC FFGS			
Charles Moss	FFGS FRE ABE	FFGS FRE ABE			
Gregory Kiker Lisa House Zhifeng Gao	ABE FRE FRE	ABE FRE FRE			
James Seale Jason Vogel	FRE	FRE FFGS			
Amy Simonne	FFGS FYCS FRF	FFGS FYCS FRE			
Sherry Larkin Zhanao Deng Dail Laughinghouro	GCREC	ENH			
Dail Laughinghouse Damian Adams	FLREC	AGR FFGS			
Thomas Colquhoun Wen-Yuan Song	ENH PLP	ENH PLP			
Karla Shelnutt Wagner Vendrame	FYCS ENH	FYCS ENH			
Ricky Telg Kathleen Kelsey	AEC	AEC			
Larry Forthun Amy Harder	FYCS AEC	FYCS AEC			
Lisa Lundy Brent Sellers	AEC	AEC			
Sarah Lynne David Diehl	FYCS FYCS	FYCS FYCS			
Kathryn Stofer	AEC	AEC			



The Top Faculty "Heat Map"

helps identify potential AAAS nominees. These faculty are gifted memberships by the UF/IFAS Research Dean's Office to ensure they remain eligible for nomination.



How Top Faculty are Identified

by citation / *h* index data.

Faculty	Tenure Home	Citations	h Index	i10-index
Faculty A	Animal Sciences	23,513	84	340
Faculty B	Animal Sciences	21,504	80	355
Faculty C	Animal Sciences	17,422	71	219
Faculty D	Animal Sciences	14,067	65	219
Faculty E	Animal Sciences	7,817	48	119
Faculty F	Animal Sciences	6,603	45	109
Faculty G	Animal Sciences	5,598	40	103
Faculty H	Animal Sciences	5,584	40	78
Faculty I	Animal Sciences	3,486	31	83
Faculty J	Animal Sciences	3,055	29	60
Faculty K	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	3,311	31	85
Faculty L	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	2,649	13	14
Faculty M	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	2,149	25	45
Faculty N	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	1,963	22	29
Faculty O	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	1,856	20	25
Faculty P	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	1,462	19	31
Faculty Q	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	1,056	14	16
Faculty R	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	834	12	14
Faculty S	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	468	11	14
Faculty T	Family, Youth & Community Sciences	332	7	7

Higher citation discipline

Lower citation discipline

All 15 UF/IFAS tenure homes are included. Approximately seven to 10 faculty from each tenure home are gifted AAAS memberships and eligible for AAAS Fellow nomination, regardless of whether they are in a higher or lower citation disipline.