Skip to main content

UF/IFAS Office of the Dean for Research

UF/IFAS Office of the Dean for Research

We are pleased to announce that the University of Florida horticultural team, led by Carlene Chase, has been selected as the group winner of the 2021 National Experiment Station Diversity and Inclusion Award!

This award recognizes excellence in promoting diversity, equity, pluralism, and inclusion in our nation's agricultural experiment stations. The ESCOP Diversity Catalyst Committee received a number of compelling nominations, but the committee noted that the UF team is dedicated to reaching underserved populations while training young professionals pursuing careers in agriculture. We were impressed that the team works closely with the Florida Black Farmers Association to train and enhance organic farming strategies, all the while with a commitment to diversity and inclusion. Last, grant agencies recognize the value of the work, funding collaborative, interinstitutional work between the University of Florida, Florida A&M and North Carolina A&T.

This award will be presented at the annual meeting of the Experiment Station Section’s Annual Meeting in Olympic Valley, CA on September 29, 2021.

This is the second year in a row UF/IFAS is receiving this national recognition. In 2020, the Family, Youth, and Sciences Team, led by Tracy Irani, won this award. Many thanks and congratulations to those in our organization who are taking positive actions toward a culture of diversity and inclusion.